A Weekend of Rest

I slept until 12pm on Saturday, and it was great. I actually hardly left my bed until like 8pm except for breakfast and a shower. Needless to say, I’m still tired. I spent the day searching for classes, but mostly rewatching The Fosters. Oops. Such a good show though, look at those too!:

Image 

My friends and I met up for dinner and we went to this nice little place outside. We took the bus there which is where these action shots came from because everyone has now decided that I am the photographer:

Image

Image

We ate out on the patio/sidewalk of the restaurant and it was really nice out. Like three different people stopped to ask us for money while we were there and it happens a lot here, it’s rough. Allison and I shared a sandwich and Sammy and I shared a bottle of white wine – wine is cheaper to buy than water. Water is twenty pesos a bottle and the whole bottle of wine cost us forty eight pesos. Here are some dinner shots:

Image

Image

Image

After dinner we headed to a party welcoming international students at this bar, hosted by “Argentina for All.” Everyone made fun of me at dinner because I wanted to be on time because the Facebook invite said there would be free gifts for the first one hundred people. We were late and I was quite worried about my prize, but I took the time to take this photo along the way:

Image

We finally found the bar and got in. We didn’t have to pay because we brought school supplies for this NGO they are supporting. And the prize??? It’s this super sweet key chain that looks like the keys we have but is also a bottle opener. Yeah, we got prizes – still super pumped about it. Check it out!:

Image

We spent a long time there and it was fun! We chatted with a bunch of people from all over the place and we sang along with the karaoke going on – there was a Beatles song and it was great! At like 3:30 am we decided to go home – which is super lame in Argentina ahahah but I was proud of myself for making it that long. We walked to the bus stop and waited for forever but then my bus came and I headed home. My host mom was at a wedding and got home just before me – crazy stuff!!!

I slept til noon today too hahah and then got up, had breakfast and tried my best to figure out all my classes stuff which is just getting more and more complicated ahaha. Oh well, it will work out. Then my friends and I decided to walk to the water – which we never made it to because there were too many highways to cross. But we did manage to cross through a bunch of parks:

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Then when I got home I went to the grocery store and bought food for sandwiches! I also caved and bought this:

Image

For dinner my host mom made Milanesa and potatoes and a salad for me. Milanesa is like really thin meat that is covered in bread crumbs,,. it’s really good! We talked a lot about my classes and being able to converse is getting much easier! Just a Spanish class for me tomorrow!

 

Leave a Reply

