Fun In the City!

I have been keeping myself very busy!! And it has proved to be rewarding. I don’t think I have had this much free time to actually do my homework leisurely and still do other things since middle school.

On Thursday I again enjoyed my Spanish class. I really like the professor. After class I returned home and napped a bit before heading back into the center of the city to attend a performance (for free!!) of the Buenos Aires Philharmonic at the very famous Teatro Colón! It was a wonderful experience… the music, as well as the setting!:

Image

 Image

Image

Image

Image

 

Image

 

Friday I had to return my access card to USAL because I won’t be taking classes there and then I went to IFSA to straighten everything out for my residency appointment. While there I had a really interesting conversation with the program director about why there are so many people here that are missing legs and walking around on crutches. It was really interesting because we talked about how since he lives here, he doesn’t really notice it. We didn’t come to a conclusion of why they were missing limbs, but we did talk about how the city is not wheel chair friendly. After that I got off the bus a little early on my way home and stopped at the park:

Image

Image

it’s hard to tell from the photo, but all of that is exercise equipment… out in the middle of the park! It is so cool and I think the U.S. should get on this boat. I worked out a little bit and then headed to the park across the street with the infamous metal flower that my host mom hates and says opens and closes which I’m not sure is true:

Image

Image

Image

Then I headed home and did some homework. On Saturday I started out with homework and then headed to a rugby game. It was the Argentina National League – between CASI (San Isidro) and Tucumán. We went with Goyo, who works for IFSA but also works organizing the games for the National League, so we got in free. It rained a little bit, but other than that it was super fun!

Image

For dinner we went out to get Thai food… which was expensive, but so so good. There were eight of us so they gave us our own room and were super amused by us and it was fun. The picture is dark, but here’s my Pad Thai:

Image

Then we went to this sports bar were they were watching the Wisconsin-Kentucky final four game and watched that and drank the 10 peso rum and cokes for ladies which I found more enjoyable than the game, though the game was exciting. Then we headed to this “Magic Party” that we got in free to and got a free glass of champagne. It was fun and I lasted until four… but then I had to go home. So I waited at the bus stop with this group of ladies that were really funny. Then a kid from my program came by and sat on me and then asked the ladies if they smoked marijuana but he said it super strangely and they laughed at him and I told him it was time for him to go home and he went. Then the ladies asked me if he was my friend and I laughed and they said good. And then imitated him saying marijuana the whole bus ride home. Sunday I did homework and then played soccer again, and didn’t hurt myself! I played goal for a little too which was fun since I haven’t played goal since high school. There were more younger kids there this time and one of the boys on the program was toying with one of them and it was super cute. And I almost died when the boy on the program missed the ball and the little boy looked at him with a menacing smile and then said in English with an adorable accent “You SUCK.” Hahahah.

After that my friend Laura and I went to McD’s to get an ice cream cone and then headed home. We head steak and potatoes for dinner and my host mom fed me this super good mousse that she had made for her friends. Today I had no classes so I did homework and slept and then worked out at the outdoor gym again! Tomorrow I have to go get my residency/VISA paperwork done – I have an appointment at 9 am. Hopefully the buses are running… my host mom says they’ll be on strike on Thursday.. but one of my professors at the Argentine University just cancelled my Wednesday class because she said the strike is going to be tomorrow and Wednesday… Guess we will see!

2 thoughts on “Fun In the City!

    • Thanks Toby!!! I can’t wait for my parents and Sarah to get here, I think they are really going to like it! And it is going to be cool to show them around the city I think.

Leave a Reply

