Strikes, strikes, and more strikes

It has been a long time since I posted… but I’ve been taking photos, no worries. I made it to my appointment for my residency… somehow. For some reason the buses are ALWAYS packed full of people when I need to get somewhere. They told us we couldn’t be late to this meeting… so I squished on to the bus and had to move with the door pretty much as it closed. It was a warm warm ride. The residency appointment was pretty simple.. just had to pay and get fingerprinted. I think I am one of the few people who actually reads the emails from the office, because when I brought the paper we got directly to the office like the email said, Esteban was quite pleased. And he smiled at me… which is big because we are pretty sure those muscles don’t work in his face.

After that I headed home since class had been canceled and went to the park and napped! Naps are the best. Then we got an email that IFSA was canceling classes because of the bus strike… so I didn’t even have class on Thursday. We hung out in the park and drank Mate, a tea that is very popular here:

Image

While there we were watching people slack line which they do a lot here which also terrifies me:

Image

Then I hit the gym park again and caught this sunset on the way home!:

Image

For dinner on the weekend we went to this super nice Indian restaurant. Sammy and I shared a bottle of red and I had chicken and potatoes in this like green sauce over rice… it was super good but I was hungry so I forgot to take a picture. It was also super dark in the restaurant. We hit up McD’s after words for Dulce de Leche McFlurries.. so good.

Sunday I went to soccer and had fun as always! Then I prepped for my two day week… but Monday I went to my internship for the first time!

It is actually the most beautiful place I have seen so far in the city and I love it so much. It took me forever to get there and I got super lost… but I did it. Then I met all the people and they were so so nice and one of the girls was excited for me to help her with her English vocabulary for her English tours… it’s a super cool thing I’ve never experienced before… having the greatest knowledge in something on my first day of work. So cool! I did some data entry after and then headed home. Here are some photos of the magical beauty:

Image

Image

The main sculpture is an idea like that of the Vietnam War Memorial… but in four pieces. It holds all of the names that they know of those who disappeared and those who were assassinated in the state terrorism. There are 30 thousand plaques in total (blank and with names) to represent the symbolic number that many people believe disappeared during the terrorism. Each plaque has a name, age if known and if they know if the woman was pregnant. Inside the building there is a station where people can (and do) use a database to search for their lost family members. There are also other very interesting and powerful sculptures on the site which I will post about as I continue to work there. Anyway… I love it there! I headed home after and finished up my reading for class. It was also the red moon!:

Image

Tuesday we had class with a woman who specializes in genocide in Latin America and it was super interesting. After Sammy and I tried to pay for our trip to Salta (up north) for the coming Semana Santa.. but by the time we got to the place, it was closed. Which turned out to be a good thing, because the next day Sammy was very sick and we weren’t able to go, but we didn’t lose any money! 

For Easter… my host mom left me a chocolate egg.. how cute! I went to my University class on Wednesday and we had a very interesting presenter… but that class is SO long ahha. But Al and I made a friend Erika and she’s cool. After class I headed home and ate the tuna and rice salad my host mom left me since she was off partying with her friends aha. Thursday we went out to lunch and Al and I shared a super good pizza and Sammy and I had a couple beers. Then we hit up this really cool bookstore across the street that used to be a theater!:

Image

After we stopped at a bakery for coffee and snacks:

Image

It was late at this point and Al took a bus and Sammy and I walked home. I was so so full. And an hour after I got home, it was dinner time. It was one of the most difficult things that has happened to me in a while. When my host mom called me to dinner, she had already put a heaping plate of Spaghetti on my place.. I tried to power through it but finally gave in (for the first time since being here!) and asked if I could save like half of it for later. I hardly moved Friday due to my food hangover. I cured myself by watching video clips of Portia and Ellen DeGeneres because they are just the best. 

Friday we had Polenta… which was the first time all month we haven’t had red meat on a Friday. Which is really surprising to me since my host mom is super religious… but one of my professors here said it’s not that big of a deal except for good Friday. My host mom and I have had some very interesting conversations lately. One were she told me she thought I was never going to survive when I first got here because it seemed as if I knew nothing but that now I was speaking quite well (how nice! hahaah). Another frequent thing is about cleaning. She told me a story the other day about how she worked in a school once and one day there were papers all over the floor and she went and told the headmaster about it. He told her that he was going to put a broom in each room and she said for what? I’m not going to sweep. I don’t even sweep in my home, why would I sweep here? 

Interesting. It’s just very different. And I keep thinking about it other ways here too. There are always other people cleaning up people’s messes here. After the Polenta my host mom got super excited because the maid was coming the next day… so she left all the dirty dishes in the sink and just went to bed. And she’s never cleaned her house before. It’s just different. 

My host mom has taken to painting the cupboards though… they look terrible. No offense.

Saturday we took to MALBA (the art museum) and it was wonderful. I hate art and I happily stayed there for a long time. Here are some highlights:

Image

Image

 

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

(possibly my personal favorite – so funny: kernel plus heat equals popcorn, kernel plus excessive heat equals burnt popcorn)

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

 

Then we walked to the market and saw people with these:

Image

 

I spent hourssss at the market deciding what bag I really wanted and I fell in love with this one. People who know me, yes it’s blue like everything else I own, what do you expect:

Image

 

We also hit up Starbucks for the first time since I’ve been here even though it is at my bus stop, just a block from my house. And it was heaven. That was another example of people not cleaning up after themselves… everyone just leaves their coffee cups and trash on the tables in places like Starbucks and McD’s… it’s weird to me. Later we went out to dinner and tried to go to a kosher place to eat with jess… but it was closed so we ended up going back to the super good Thai place, where Sammy and I shared a bottle of red and I had the same super delicious meal as last time. Afterwards some people went home but Hannah, Sammy and I went searching for a bar and on the way were gifted a bottle of Vodka by someone which was super great… then we were given bracelets to get into this bar free and have free beer, so we did that. And then on the way to another bar we met these USA people and bonded with them and tried to go to a boliche, failed and then ended up hanging out in one of their apartments. By the time I got home, it was six thirty am. The porter laughed at me and rode the elevator up with me because he was putting out the newspapers. I got into my apartment and my host mom was already up smoking and asked if I was going to eat breakfast…. I just kind of stared and said I needed my bed. It was super fun, but I had to sleep like all of Sunday and now am dying to try to catch up on homework. I saw the porter later and he laughed and asked if I had recuperated from my night out dancing. Funny Luis, you’re funny.

Today I went back to my internship, got to be a part of a tour and get closer with the staff… it was long and tiring but fun! Now reading in Spanish for the rest of my life. 

 

2 thoughts on “Strikes, strikes, and more strikes

    • I am trying to!! I only have forty four days left and it feels like I am just getting the hang of things! Will be sure to post lots of photos when the family gets here to keep your spirits up! Can’t wait to come visit you when I get back to the states.

Leave a Reply

