Mendoza!!

Mendoza was so so great!!!! 

Well, it didn’t start off too well. I packed in the morning on Wednesday and was sure I forgot everything I needed even though my bag was full. Then I had to add more things because Sammy said I might need to look nice one night (who does she think I am??). Then I went to class… and left at the break. It was actually a very interesting class about AfroArgentinians, but I had to go. I got home with a lot of time to finish packing the last things, eat dinner and leave. My host mom kept bugging me that I hadn’t left yet like two hours before my bus left… but when I finally left I gave her one of the Cadbury eggs that my dad sent me and she was so so happy (not sure if it was because I was leaving… or because of the Cadbury egg haha). 

Sammy and I met up at the bus stop across from my house to take it down to Retiro and we were waiting on Al who got held up somewhere so we ended up taking a taxi which worked out better since it took us straight to the door. At the bus station we found Hannah and then were told that our bus would be at a possible 20 different spots. At 9, it wasn’t there. At 9:30 it wasn’t there. At 10:30 we thought we had somehow missed it. But then we found a lot of other people who were angry and searching for it. We made friends with this man from Mendoza who was waiting for it too. Finally, closer to midnight, the bus came and we boarded.

Somehow the whole time on both bus rides I forgot to take a photo, but the first thing I thought when I climbed the stairs to get to our seats on the second level was the night bus from Harry Potter. It was great. Sammy and I sat in the front seats which was super weird because it was like you were looking out the windshield but you were high up and didn’t have a steering wheel. This was our attempt at a selfie in the dark:

Image

The bus ride was forever long. In the beginning Sammy and I chatted for a while since we were all hyped up because we had finally gotten on the bus. We discussed and made a list of all the things that I should do/eat with my family. Then we went to sleep… I actually slept for a while. We were in what they call “Semi-cama” so like almost bed. It wasn’t too bad except that it was FREEZING. I woke up later and started to read my book for class. We made a stop later outside of Mendoza to use the bathroom:Image

When we finally got to Mendoza (after 14 hours!) we checked into our hostel and lunched at Mr. Dog – a hot dog place that was quite tasty:

Image

Then we headed to an ice cream place and got too much ice cream:

Image

Then when walking through the park towards our hostel some man was walking right towards us and then attacked Sammy. We later discovered it was her friend Lukas. We chatted with Lukas for a while and then headed back to the hostel, passing through this park:

Image

For dinner we went to Black Sheep which was a bar where they were holding a couch surfing event. We ordered beers and burgers because Sammy said they were the best, and she wasn’t lying:

Image

At one point there was a piñata… and they blindfolded this lady and then they didn’t have a stick so they handed her a knife… it was terrifying:

Image

Then another friend of Sammy’s, Ruben, showed up and after a bit we went out dancing for a while:

That’s all of us with Ruby. Then we headed back to the hostel, chatted for a while and then headed to bed. 

The next day we got up to try to go to the place Sammy volunteered last semester, but sadly it was closed. I did snap some good pictures on the way though. The first is of the irrigation system in Mendoza that is made up of ditches on all of the streets:

Image

Some wall painting:

Image

And a shot of some houses:

Image

After naps and some homework, we met up with one of Sammy’s friends from the IFSA program who is in Mendoza for the full year. Her name was Katarina and she is from the Czech Republic and she was so so sweet. We ate dinner at a parilla and the when Sammy ordered, the waitress let her know that the meat was a certain weight in grams and Sammy said okay because well, we are from the USA,we don’t understand grams. When the waitress brought our food we understood what she had said:
Image

She ate so much cow. I had the Milanesa which was quite tasty:
Image

After, we met up with Sammy’s friends Truli and Walter and went to a “Game Bar” – a bar where there are board games! It was so so so so much fun. We played a couple different games and then we played Taboo in Spanish which was hard but so much fun. I laughed so so much. 

We went to bed but then got up early to meet Truli and Walter at the train station to head out to the winery that Walter works at for a tour which was also loads of fun:

Image

Image

Image

Image

We tasted some wine, which Walter taught us how to do correctly, and then Sammy and I each bought a bottle for our host moms. We took the train back and split up for lunch. I snagged some photos of the Andes on the way back:

Image

Image

We went to Tea and Company and had delicious food and tea. Sammy and I shared a chicken sandwich and a veggie burger and there was delicious tea and a very chocolatie dessert:

Image

Image

Image

Image

Then we met up with Truli and Walter and took a long walk with them to what Walter called “The Central Park of Mendoza.” It was super pretty. The whole walk there Walter and I chatted in Spanish about all kinds of things from Tennis to school to families. He told me that my Spanish was good!

Once we found a spot in the park we played a little frisbee and then Truli showed us an awesome card trick and then we drank Maté and played cards. First we played a game a little like spoons and then we played bullshit. Walter was really bad at because he can’t lie to save his life so after I won I helped him win since he had half the deck! Then we played frisbee until it got too dark and we headed back. I snagged this:

Image

And this:

Image

And then back at the hostel we took these:

Image

Image

Image

 

(Truli is on the left and Walter is on the right)

Then we said goodbye and hit up Mr. Dog again ahha because we had to eat quick because then we hung out with Ruby and Luks again:

(Left to right: Ruby, Al, Hannah, Luks and Me)

The next morning we had to check out of the hostel and we hit up Tea and Company one last time:

Image

Image

Here’s a photo of the outside of our adorable hostel:

Image

Then we headed to the bus station where we grabbed a quick lunch and Ruby came to see us off:

Then we were on the bus for 14 hours at least. We got dinner and I tried to sleep but wasn’t too successful. They showed Red 2 in english and then Minority Report in Spanish which I could do, but when I Robot came on with Will Smith dubbed in Spanish it was too much for me so I went to sleep. We got in a little late so Sammy and I took a taxi home. When I got home my host mom was super excited to see me and told me to go straight to bed and was very worried when I said I had to go to my internship and class. I took a shower and had breakfast and gave her her bottle of wine (which she was SUPER happy about) and headed to my internship. Turns out I was actually supposed to put the photos in the database, which I then did and then headed to my make up spanish class. Afterwards I headed home at about 7:30 to find my dinner on my place with a note that said pretty much “eat this and go straight to bed, you must be tired.” Which I did. I did a bunch of homework in the morning and then headed to class and then back home for a nap and homework. For dinner we had spaghetti and the rest of the wine my host mom had not fed to her friends! I must say, I never thought I’d say this about a city, but it’s good to be back.

Leave a Reply

